Royal Hill, Fivestones
The summit rocks of Royal Tor are very much lesser-known and are not marked by the Ordnance Survey. Located no more than a couple of miles to the east of Princetown, the vista beyond the exposed granite rocks is pretty good of the surrounding tors and hills and is a picturesque spot passed by most en route to the more interesting sites of the Crock of Gold to the north-west and John Bishop's House some way to the east.
The name of the tor comes from Rev H. Hugh Breton (1931-32) on a map of the SW quarter of the moor included at the back of the book giving the name of 'Royal Tor', providing some support to Eric Hemery's observations and name for the lowly rocks on Royal Hill which he mentions later in 'High Dartmoor', published in 1983. The author states; "On Royal Hill are the inconsiderable rocks of Royal Tor (1,336 feet). Of its two piles, the northern is the higher. Near the south pile is a boulder much weathered at the base and poised on a slab in the manner of a logan stone."
Brought to our attention by Dartmoor Chris, it seems that there was once another, albeit local name for the tor mentioned in a March 1935 article of the Western Morning News that reported on a Point to Point race of the Plymouth Garrison Hunt Club; "The turning point in the race was on Royal Tor or Fivestones." We assume that this is a reference to the probable number of boulders that are piled on the bedrock.